A Father’s Daughter

Nkechi Nneji ‘07

Searching…

Manifest Success “My dad is my biggest fan, always in my corner, always trying to encouraging me to be better, both in my actions and how I think about things. He always says, ‘The one thing is life you can control is how you think about things.’ (whispered) I hate to say it, but it’s true! My dad is really into the spiritual, philosophical side of self-development – by virtue of your thoughts you can manifest success. He lives that dream – growing up one of nine in Nigeria, a war-torn country, coming to America, getting his PhD from Columbia, he truly believes that he manifests his own success mentally. But sometimes you want to scream; you want to have a pity party, and it’s not an option.”

I’ll say “Oh God, it’s such a crappy day.”

He’ll say, “Nkechi, control that thought.”

I think, “again!?”

Pursuing the Win-win “I learned how to be persuasive from my dad; my dad could sell you a broken watch. He’s all about the win-win philosophy – make it so that they win and you win. Whenever I hit a roadblock politically at Smith, I would try to rejigger it to make it a win, win.”

One thought on “A Father’s Daughter

  1. Pingback: Nkechi Nneji ‘07 | A Woman's Success…

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.