Power and Politics

Nkechi Nneji ‘07

Searching…

How many professionals in their mid-twenties know the effect that power has on them?

Love of Power “For me, I’m someone that has always been attracted to power, always, which is why I love politics, but I don’t think I should ever run. I’d be in the back room wielding… minions. I know it’s a double-edged sword for me. The good thing is that I am aware of it, because everyone tells me I should get into politics, but until I have someone who can anchor me in sanity, and good-naturedness, and a spirit of service… (laughing) I know, it cannot be good.”

Power and Personality “Junior year at Smith College, I was running a lot of different things. From my vantage point, I saw how easy it was for me to get what I wanted. Whether it was to say something publicly, get my alliances behind the scenes and, just through sheer force of personality, get people to change their vote. That scared me.”

Walking Away “People were trying to get me to run for SGA president my senior year. I cannot tell you how horribly flattered I was when certain deans were saying, ‘I want you to run’ – horribly flattered. I knew it would be a bad road and I just said, ‘no thank you.’ I knew I wouldn’t have a life and be this woman sitting at an office somewhere snarling at people.”

One thought on “Power and Politics

  1. Pingback: Nkechi Nneji ‘07 | A Woman's Success…

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.